I need advice

I am writing from America. I am not muslim but I am looking for advice and maybe some answers. I am a student working on my masters degree. I have been dating a Saudi guy for the last year and I am very much in love with him.

When we first started dating I heard that alot of people were saying its strange that he would date me, that he is religious. He follows Islam in every way other than the fact he is with me.

He recently came to me and said that he cannot deal with himself in this anymore. That he goes home and sometimes cries after being with me because it is Haram, but he does not want to leave me.

He has asked me to go with him to the Mosqe and marry. I am not ready for marriage and it is not in my culture to run out and get married quickly. So its not a leagal US marriage just in the mosqe so it is no longer haram for him to be with me. I love him I am willing to do this for him but I am a little scared.

First of all I want to know what your opinions are about the situation in general. Further I want to know what to expect. What happens in these ceremonies? What does being married in Islam mean for me?

Tags: 

If you want to know what happens in the ceremonies, that is easy - all that is required is in front of witnesses both of you accept marriage.

That is the only requirement. He may want more or less, but everything else is extra. (it does not have to be in a mosque)

There may be a meal too and he may have two halls if he wants (or rather his parents more likely) the women and the men to not mingle. but this is not necessary - the only necessity is the accepting of the marriage in front of witnesses.

Further, if you do marry him, MAKE SURE IT IS REGISTERED as a legitimate marriage and not just a religious ceremony that is not a valid civil marriage too. (so this will require a visit to the registry office or where ever such things are recorded in the US.)

Are you sure you know what marriage entails?