Recession

Salaam,

Has anyone been effected by it? I'm pretty sure the dire financial situation in the UK has directly or indirectly effected people's lives - you may be in employment, a recent graduate or looking for work. Or you may know someone that has had he/her life turned upside down because of it.

A family friend I know has been made redundant 4times in one year and he has a young family.

As a teacher, my salary has been capped for two years.

The recession led to my father and my father in law take early retirement.

My brother - a recent graduate cant find a graduate job.

And the recession has forced me and my husband to live like ex pats overseas.

Has the recession effected anyone else?

Wasalam

Its not as easy to walk into a job these days, but I am sure that is more me than the recession at play.

"For too long, we have been a passively tolerant society, saying to our citizens 'as long as you obey the law, we will leave you alone'" - David Cameron, UK Prime Minister. 13 May 2015.

well..even if the recession had affected me in any way, knowing myself ( and i hope i know enough) i wouldnt have noticed.

I dont pay attention to little details.

Blum 3

Is it true? Is it kind? Is it necessary?

When I graduated last year I applied for around 400 jobs and was rejected for all of them. So I decided to do my masters hoping that after finishing studies it would be easier to get a job. I was wrong. Before I could atleast apply for jobs and get rejected, now I cannot even find many suitable jobs to apply to.

I either lack experience for well-paid jobs, or I'm over-qualified (and lack experience) for entry level jobs, so I'm stuck in between. You need experience to work so people who lack experience can't find work.

Luckily for me I still live with my parents (like most Asians) so it's not as bad as some people who have been made homeless because they can't pay their rent/mortgage.