Seeking knowledge through travel

assalmu alaikum w.w.

I'm sure most of you are aware of the hadith that says the Prophet Sallallahu Alaihi Wa Sallam (Peace and Blessings be upon him) said "Seek knowledge, even as far away as China."

Well I'm not planning to go THAT far (yet), but i am going to Syria on Wednesday insha'Allah! im very excited now, I'm going with a Syrian brother, and I'm staying family in Aleppo for 5 nights then with some Singaporean students in Damascus for 5 nights.

I was wondering if anyone here has been and can recommend anywhere in particular to visit...

I also hear its a bit of a Sufi centre and I have NO experience of any of this, so if anyone has information on those types of things too i would be very grateful...

Also, I would like to hear if anyone else has travelled to middle eastern or arab countries, what there experiences are etc...

last year I went to Egypt and I absolutely loved it! It was the 1st time I'd heard the azhan echoing round the streets and the people were the most welcoming I've ever met, I also climbed mount Sinai (where Moses (ra)reportedly recieved his revelation). The whole experience made me so much stronger in my Iman, and insha'Allah Syria will have a similar effect.

I appreceiate any feedback on this, jazakAllah

w'salam

"Ya'qub" wrote:
assalmu alaikum w.w.

I'm sure most of you are aware of the hadith that says the Prophet Sallallahu Alaihi Wa Sallam (Peace and Blessings be upon him) said "Seek knowledge, even as far away as China."

wa3laykum salaam wa ra7matullahi wa barakatuh.:)

there is no doubt that Islam places a huge amount of importance on seeking knowledge, but unfortunately that hadith is a fabricated one (mawdoo3).

"Ya'qub" wrote:
Well I'm not planning to go THAT far (yet), but i am going to Syria on Wednesday insha'Allah! im very excited now, I'm going with a Syrian brother, and I'm staying family in Aleppo for 5 nights then with some Singaporean students in Damascus for 5 nights.