Muslims 'want sermons in English'

Assallamu Allaikum

[b]Muslims 'want sermons in English' [/b]

Many believe multiculturalism improves UK society
The majority of British Muslims believe clerics in the UK should be made to preach in the English language, a BBC survey suggests.
The Mori poll for the BBC found 65% of Muslims backed such a move, compared with 39% of the national population.

[b]THIS IS EXACTLY WHAT IS REQUIRED. EVERY FRIDAY KHUTBAH SHOULD BE IN ENGLISH SO THE MUSLIM YOUTH KNOW EXACTLY WHAT TH EIMAM IS ON ABOUT? THE DAYS OF URDU KHUTBAS SHOULD BE OVER...NOW IS THE TIME TO MAKE SURE THE YOUTH KNOW THEIR DEEN. i've been banging on about this on the radio for past 6 years!!!! Biggrin [/b]

Share your views pls...

wasalaam

not that old chesnut again :roll:

OF COURSE khutbahs should be in english

but how can they when Mosque Imams are all from back home and cant speak English

this problem will only be solved when my generation become parents

until then we can only moan about the problem

"TheRevivalEditor" wrote:

i've been banging on about this on the radio for past 6 years!!!! Biggrin [/b]

and thats why you kick up a lot of controversy in oldham, especially on your radio show! whilst i agree there should be khutba's in english, you cant just get rid of Urdu ones. whos gona cater for the elders in our community? they fill half the mosques up anyway. and people should also learn thier mother tongue. how u gonna communicate with ur imported wife/husband! Blum 3

The Lover is ever drunk with love;
He is free, he is mad,
He dances with ecstasy and delight.

Caught by our own thoughts,
We worry about every little thing,
But once we get drunk on that love,
Whatever will be, will be.

ɐɥɐɥ

salaam
u dont get rid of urdu khutbas, u have half hour for urdu and half hour in english...
i only create controversy because ppl, especially certain imams, want to bury their heads in the sand and think everything is ok...