Q and A By Shaykh Salim Ghisa

Q. I have recently read that Walkers use a small amount of alcohol in some flavours of their crisps (Sensations Thai Sweet Chilli, Doritos Chilli Heat Wave and Quavers Cheese), to enhance the flavour. Does that make them Haram?

A. It has become evident that some flavourings in some crisps consist of Haram ingredients. Therefore, as per the rule of the Shariah, once something permissible has something Haram added to it and cannot be separated, then the whole item becomes Haram. In which case, those crisps with Haram ingredients are Haram and therefore not permissible to eat.

Q. Can a Muslim give Haram food to a non-Muslim?

A. It is a basic ruling of the Shariah that it is not permissible for a Muslim to give something which is Haram for him to anyone else, whether they are Muslim or non-Muslim. In basic terms, if something is Haram then it is because Allah (swt) has detested it and therefore all mankind should avoid it.

The general Fiqh (Islamic Jurisprudence) principle is that something which is not permissible to use for oneself is not permissible to give to another (even if they are non-Muslim). [Ibn Abidin, Radd al-Muhtar; Majalla]

Of course Allah knows best.



According to , those crisps are still halaal.

And its also listing the flavours on their .

What gives?

"For too long, we have been a passively tolerant society, saying to our citizens 'as long as you obey the law, we will leave you alone'" - David Cameron, UK Prime Minister. 13 May 2015.