From You to Yop:
I was wondering about the ingredients of the Yop yogurt drinks, specifically the strawberry flavour.
I have seen it listed online as "suitable for vegetarians" but on the bottle it says that it contains cochineal.
I am a muslim and am wondering if this is suitable for consumtion under islamic dietary laws, so as much information as possible would be much appreciated.
and from Yop to You:
Thank you for contacting Yoplait.
In September, the recipe and packaging of Yop was changed - the artificial colour additives (E122, E124, E151) were removed and replaced with natural colours. This change unfortunately means the product is no longer suitable for vegetarians.
The ingredient list does clearly state that the product contains cochineal, which, though a natural colour, is not suitable for vegetarians (as you have stated). I can confirm the website has been changed and this was completed some time ago.
We are reviewing Yop for the feasibility of a vegetarian version; however this has not yet been confirmed.
We would like to send you a product voucher as a gesture of goodwill. If you would like to receive this please send us your full mailing address and which product you would prefer.
If you have any further questions, please call on 08456 011 012 or you can email us at firstname.lastname@example.org
(yeeah, I replaced my name in there with You...)