Walkers crisps are haram!!!
Muslims shocked to learn that crisps contain alcohol
http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/life_and_style/food_and_drink/article3…
Forum
Muslims shocked to learn that crisps contain alcohol
http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/life_and_style/food_and_drink/article3…
67 comments
MuslimBro Tue, 11 Mar 2008 - 00:22
Reply from Walkers
Here is the email I got back from Walkers.
You Tue, 11 Mar 2008 - 00:31
Re: Reply from Walkers
Are you planning on posting the list?
MuslimBro Tue, 11 Mar 2008 - 00:41
Re: Reply from Walkers
That's what I was thinking.
There is no list. That's the whole email posted up there.
Joie de Vivre Tue, 11 Mar 2008 - 01:27
Re: Reply from Walkers
I think Admin meant when you get it in the mail. Perhaps they are also sending complimentary vouchers.
MuslimBro Wed, 12 Mar 2008 - 00:24
Re: Reply from Walkers
I got the list today in the post. Can't be bothered to scan the letter and post it now, so I'll do it tomorrow inshaAllah.
However got no vouchers 🙁
Joie de Vivre Wed, 12 Mar 2008 - 00:53
Re: Reply from Walkers
Skinflints. So they are haram!
You Wed, 12 Mar 2008 - 01:18
Re: Reply from Walkers
Like you care!
(In general the "humourous" rule is (or atleast it used to be) "if it tastes too good, it must be haraam.")
Joie de Vivre Wed, 12 Mar 2008 - 02:20
Re: Reply from Walkers
It's true, it doesn't bother me, but I was honestly hoping MuslimBro would get some vouchers for his troubles.
This evening I meandered into a free arts event that looked vaguely interesting, and found it had an open bar. That was a pleasant surprise. Then I had to sit still and listen to an award ceremony I knew nothing about for just about the most boring two hours of my life. It's always for the best when karma doesn't wait.
MuslimBro Wed, 12 Mar 2008 - 23:28
Re: Reply from Walkers
Here you go.
Click to enlarge (recommended... unless you have super-eyesight).
Even after clicking the image, you still might have problem reading the list.
Ya'qub Wed, 12 Mar 2008 - 23:40
Re: Reply from Walkers
Smokey bacon flavour...suitable for vegetarians/Muslims?
SubhanAllah!
You Wed, 12 Mar 2008 - 23:46
Re: Reply from Walkers
but the name says bacon!
EDIT - It lists Cheese and Onion! Woohoo!
Ya'qub Thu, 13 Mar 2008 - 09:19
Re: Reply from Walkers
When you shout 'woohoo' after eating cheese and onion crisps you stink the place up
Alisha Thu, 13 Mar 2008 - 15:51
Re: Reply from Walkers
Chili heatwave doritos :O
Farhana Ahmed (not verified) Sun, 16 Nov 2008 - 20:58
Re: Whats left that we cant
This is the master foods list of what we can/can't eat taken from GMWA Food guide. The Hanfi fiqh consideres Whey powder from calves to be halal.
The summary is -
3.3) The rennet obtained from an animal slaughtered by a non-Muslim or Muslim in accordance with Islamic law or contrary to it, is in all cases Ja’iz as long as the animal in question is not a pig. This is the opinion of Imaam Abu Hanifah. According to the Saahibayn it is Impure.
* Whey comes under the same rule as rennet because it is a by-product.
Full article here - http://www.gmwa.org.uk/foodguide2/in...question&id=20.
LIST
Aquadrops AppleHalaal
Aquadrops Citrus Halaal
Bounty Milk Halaal *
Bounty Dark Halaal *
Celebrations Halaal *
Flyte Halaal *
Galaxy Milk Halaal
Galaxy Fruit & Nut Halaal *
Galaxy Hazelnut Halaal *
Galaxy Amicelli Halaal *
Galaxy Caramel Halaal *
Galaxy Promises Halaal *
Galaxy Ripple Halaal
Galaxy Minstrels Halaal *
Lockets Honey & Lemon Halaal
Lockets Blackcurrant Halaal
Lockets Extra Strong Halaal
M&Ms Peanut Halaal * (alcoholic flavourings)
M&Ms Chocolate Halaal * (alcoholic flavourings)
M&Ms Crispy Halaal * (alcoholic flavourings)
Maltesers Halaal *
Maltesers White Halaal *
Mars Halaal *
Mars Funsize Halaal *
Milky Way Halaal *
Milky Way Magic Stars Halaal *
Revels Halaal
Skittles - Fruits Halaal
Skittles - Sours HARAAM (E120)
Skittles - Gum Halaal
Snickers Halaal *
Snickers Funsize Halaal *
Starburst Original Halaal
Starburst Strawberry Halaal
Starburst Sours Halaal
Topic Halaal *
Tracker Chocolate Chip Halaal
Tracker Roasted Nut Halaal
Tunes Cherry Halaal
Tunes Blackcurrant Halaal
Tunes Strawberry Halaal
Twix Halaal *
ICE CREAMS
Bounty - All varieties Halaal *
Galaxy - All varieties Halaal *
Mars Bar - All varieties Halaal *
Maltesers - All varieties Halaal *
M&Ms Halaal *
Snickers - All varieties Halaal *
Starburst - All varieties Halaal
Twix Bar Halaal *
Twix Tub Halaal *
KEY
* These products contain calf whey syrup or cheese.
** Please avoid.
*** trace alcohol as a flavour, colour carrier (Halaal)
What is Whey?
During cheese making, a coagulum is formed by clotting milk with rennet. When the coagulum is cut, a watery liquid known as whey is released and drained off leaving the curd to be salted and further processed into cheese. Whey contains water, fat, protein, lactose, minerals and lactic acid. Cream, butter, cheese, drinks, syrups and powder are some of the products made from whey. Whey will come under the same rule as rennet because it is a by-product which appears during the process of cheese making.
Ya'qub Sun, 16 Nov 2008 - 21:02
Re: Whats left that we cant
That's all great, what about Ferrero Rocher?
Farhana Ahmed (not verified) Sun, 16 Nov 2008 - 21:04
Re: Whats left that we cant
Whey fron calves are cosidered as halal!
so we are aloud to eat these sweets!
but im not sure why it says m&ms are halal coz it has alcaholic flavourings!! :?:
Farhana Ahmed (not verified) Sun, 16 Nov 2008 - 21:10
Re: Whats left that we cant
i dnt kno if Ferrero Rocher is halal of not i got da info from a website
lol 😂
TPOS Fri, 21 Nov 2008 - 19:55
Re: Reply from Walkers
when i enlarge nothing comes up? can u like copy and paste the list? plz
Omrow Sat, 22 Nov 2008 - 12:50
Re: Reply from Walkers
Salam
There is something wrong with people who eat Ferrero Rocher.
Omrow
hani nerde (not verified) Fri, 1 May 2009 - 21:48
Re: Noor wrote:
it's Dairy Box-turkish delight choc.
this not made in turkey.its made from dairy box
just name on it turkish delight style.
please !
Sephy (not verified) Fri, 1 May 2009 - 23:19
Re: Reply from Walkers
i dont see wat the big deal is with Ferrero Rocher?
it doesnt even taste that good.
You Fri, 1 May 2009 - 23:22
Re: Reply from Walkers
it's posh and when you eat it you are supposed to feel posher I suppose.
It's ok.
Hajjar Sat, 2 May 2009 - 01:14
Re: Reply from Walkers
salams
so is it haram according to hanafi fiqh? Any rulings come forth from scholars? let me know please
You Sat, 2 May 2009 - 01:31
Re: Reply from Walkers
Most walkers don't contain alcohol even as flavourings. just a couple of flavours, thai sweet chilli being one of them I think.
According to GMWA they are fine.
big bro Wed, 6 May 2009 - 09:59
Re: Reply from Walkers
I eat Ferrero Rocher and thers nothing wrong with me...
The Lamp Wed, 6 May 2009 - 10:01
Re: Reply from Walkers
Are you sure about that?
big bro Wed, 6 May 2009 - 10:02
Re: Reply from Walkers
Ferrero Rochers are posh chocs. Which other chocolates do u know of that are hand made and individually hand wrapped in gold foil.
You Wed, 6 May 2009 - 15:51
Re: Reply from Walkers
Which other chocolate do you know that can be affected so greatly by the preparer not washing his/her hands after going to the loo?
Hand made does not mean better. It can be, but it can also be much much worse.
Machines were invented to do reproducable precision work at a level and speed that humans alone can not. Wake up to the 19th century.
TPOS Wed, 6 May 2009 - 16:20
Re: Reply from Walkers
Ewwww man, ur just like my brother, have to say such horrble stuff to ruin everything :| lol
Ya'qub Wed, 6 May 2009 - 17:22
Re: Reply from Walkers
Tee hee hee. Good point.
But mass-produced is never posh.
Pagination
Comments are closed on this post.