:? I was just wondering what foods are haram or halal, as i have recently herd that some types of chocolate are haram.(mega disater-i can not blive with out chocolate)
I have heard that strawberry milkshake is made from ants. Does that mean that I should avoid strawberry milkshake?
If someone tells you something, before passing it on as fact, investigate it. Make sure it is true.
On the other hand there is the story about a Sikh shop keeper. He fell out with someone and that person started spreading a malicious rumour - that the guy belonged to another (muslim) sect - so that other muslims would stop going to him.
Starbursts (Original, Strawberry & Sours) all seem to be halal as last indicated by the GMWA Halal Foodguide Service, who checked with Mars the manufacturer. Dated March 2008.
However this is only true for UK Starbursts, this maybe different state side.
SeraphimDoes anyone else think veggie muslims are a little strange?
I know someone who refuses to eat meat when in Britain, but that's because they don't trust 90% halal meat because the animals are stunned before being slaughtered.
They eat meat when they stay in Muslim countries.
But I think what you're talking about is a bit different.
I mean generally muslims who dont eat meat. Who are vegetarians. I think thats really strange.
As far as trusting UK halal meat. IMO if it says its halal then its halal for you to eat, bcoz as far as you know its halal... if however thats not the case and its not really halal its something thats beyond your control so God will forgive.
34 comments
You Sun, 27 Jul 2008 - 16:12
Re: halal or haram
Stick to Kit Kat.
it's got "You's Seal of Approval".
Also, have a read of this.
Ya'qub Sun, 27 Jul 2008 - 17:36
Re: halal or haram
I'm pretty sure pork is haram.
Seraphim Sun, 27 Jul 2008 - 17:41
Re: halal or haram
Among the m&ms the red one is haram
Seraphim Sun, 27 Jul 2008 - 18:08
Re: halal or haram
Or so im told.
People seem to be too concerned with what is haram.
Allahuakbar Sun, 27 Jul 2008 - 18:37
Re: halal or haram
Same with smarties. The colour you guys are talking about is E120 and is derived from the cochineal BEETLE!
You Sun, 27 Jul 2008 - 19:54
Re: halal or haram
As the dieticians say, you are what you eat!
You can't be too concerned about whether the food you eat is haraam. It is simply impossible.
Then again I have heard the argument "If you don't pray, why do you care if what you eat is halaal?" Some crazy people out there.
Sumaiya Sun, 27 Jul 2008 - 21:45
Re: halal or haram
best not stick to kit kat, it funds israel.
Sumaiya Sun, 27 Jul 2008 - 21:48
Re: halal or haram
ive heard that all pepsi produce contains some sort of pork sausage or something, it could be alcohol actually, im not sure
You Sun, 27 Jul 2008 - 22:51
Re: halal or haram
Hearsay.
Sumaiya Sun, 27 Jul 2008 - 22:54
Re: halal or haram
but your suposed to leave that you doubt
You Sun, 27 Jul 2008 - 23:02
Re: halal or haram
Hearsay is not the same as doubt.
I have heard that strawberry milkshake is made from ants. Does that mean that I should avoid strawberry milkshake?
If someone tells you something, before passing it on as fact, investigate it. Make sure it is true.
On the other hand there is the story about a Sikh shop keeper. He fell out with someone and that person started spreading a malicious rumour - that the guy belonged to another (muslim) sect - so that other muslims would stop going to him.
Sumaiya Sun, 27 Jul 2008 - 23:16
Re: halal or haram
im gonna contact them inshallah and find out for sure. ive also heard that sensation and quavers contains some sort of alcohol
UniteTheUmmah Mon, 28 Jul 2008 - 08:19
Re: halal or haram
Asalamu alaykum
This site should help you insha'allah:
http://www.gmwa.org.uk/foodguide2/
Wasalam
Sumaiya Mon, 28 Jul 2008 - 14:17
Re: halal or haram
thats a great website and cleared most of my doubts, thanks. but ive heard that lucozade contains alcohol too
You Mon, 28 Jul 2008 - 14:46
Re: halal or haram
Your body also contains alcohol - produces it too.
As long as no alcohol is added to the product (and it has no intoxicating effects), it's all good.
Actually, vinegar (which it is sunnah to consume) is made from alcohol, so the above is not strictly true.
Courage Tue, 29 Jul 2008 - 15:34
Re: halal or haram
OK, read the back. If it says "Suitable for Vegetarians," "Halal," or if it doesn't contain anything haram then, Inshallah it's halal.
Minimuslim Tue, 29 Jul 2008 - 16:27
Re: halal or haram
are the red starbursts and wine gums haram
Courage Tue, 29 Jul 2008 - 16:53
Re: halal or haram
Read the ingredients.
Seraphim Tue, 29 Jul 2008 - 17:16
Re: halal or haram
Starbursts (Original, Strawberry & Sours) all seem to be halal as last indicated by the GMWA Halal Foodguide Service, who checked with Mars the manufacturer. Dated March 2008.
However this is only true for UK Starbursts, this maybe different state side.
Ya'qub Tue, 29 Jul 2008 - 17:35
Re: halal or haram
wine gums or any other jelly sweets or marshmallows are not halal.
Seraphim Tue, 29 Jul 2008 - 17:42
Re: halal or haram
Wine Gums are haraam.... obviously.
Ya'qub Tue, 29 Jul 2008 - 22:31
Re: halal or haram
Unless there is alcohol in it.
Ya'qub Tue, 29 Jul 2008 - 22:41
Re: halal or haram
What are you on about?
http://www.gonchong.co.uk/vegbeer.html
Seraphim Wed, 30 Jul 2008 - 11:16
Re: halal or haram
Since when? Veggies will have anything as long as it dont have meat in it. Its got nothing to do with alcohol.
Ofcourse WE cant have anythng with non-halal meat or with alcohol in it.
Pretty_Muslim01 Wed, 30 Jul 2008 - 17:57
Re: halal or haram
thats horrible!!!
by the way 'minimuslim'its me!
Nissy!
Seraphim Thu, 31 Jul 2008 - 13:11
Re: halal or haram
Does anyone else think veggie muslims are a little strange?
Ya'qub Thu, 31 Jul 2008 - 13:13
Re: halal or haram
I know someone who refuses to eat meat when in Britain, but that's because they don't trust 90% halal meat because the animals are stunned before being slaughtered.
They eat meat when they stay in Muslim countries.
But I think what you're talking about is a bit different.
Sumaiya Thu, 31 Jul 2008 - 13:49
Re: halal or haram
god created animals to be eaten, i say eat them!
Seraphim Thu, 31 Jul 2008 - 14:37
Re: halal or haram
I mean generally muslims who dont eat meat. Who are vegetarians. I think thats really strange.
As far as trusting UK halal meat. IMO if it says its halal then its halal for you to eat, bcoz as far as you know its halal... if however thats not the case and its not really halal its something thats beyond your control so God will forgive.
Ya'qub Thu, 31 Jul 2008 - 14:47
Re: halal or haram
There's a village in Indonesia who my friends donate to. We do Qurban there at the end of Eid-al Adha.
They eat meat once a year, not because of a 'lifestyle choice', but because they can't afford it.
So we should be grateful we get to eat meat all the time.
Pagination
Comments are closed on this post.