DEGREE-JUST A PIECE OF PAPER?

That's really inspiring that..

No, but seriously, I have realised that just cos I have a degree doesn't mean I'll be earning more than someone who doesn't. It's just a matter of not getting your hopes up and being willing to accept an average job with an average wage.

However, I can put my degree to good use. I've decided to go into teaching after 5-10 years of making use of my masters.

i know couple of ppl who have got degrees but are doing really crappy jobs or cant get work. I have a degree but its pretty useless until i have done my post grad course. Even then i think i will probably find it really hard to find a job because i am an ethnic minority, i am a woman, i am a muslim and i wear a hijab. But for some careers you have to go to uni like if u want to be a doctor or dentist.
In my opinion i think those ppl who dont go to uni are in better paid jobs.

No not the gum drop buttons! – Gingy

My degree is pretty worthless, means little to me and was incredibly boring!

However, I studied incredibly hard to get a 2.1 because without my degree/grade I wouldn’t have been accepted onto my postgraduate programme – and my postgraduate means a LOT to me.

It means more to me than my GCSE’s, A levels and undergraduate degree.

Without my postgraduate qualification I couldn’t have became qualified and I would have been unable to teach.

My qualification also affects the pay that I will recieve soon.

IMO a degree is a stepping stone towards larger goals. In the future I wish to be a Lecturer in Uni on a PGCE programme and one of the things I need for that is an undergraduate degree.

The worth of a degree is very much dependent on what you want to do in the future and whether or not you want a degree to get there.

Also, I rate people who do a degree as it shows commitment, responsibility, time management and professionalism.