Mars confectionary no longer vegetarian

Salaam everyone, Some information for all the chocolate lovers out there. You may have already heard about it but here's the list. Please pass this to as many people as possible. Jazaakallah.

An email/news update from Mars customer service sent to the Vegetarian Society:

No Mars chocolate brands produced from tomorrow onwards are vegetarian - This includes Galaxy, Mars, Bounty, Celebrations, Maltesers, Milky Way, Revels, Snickers, Topic and Twix.

“Due to a change in the ingredients used in our chocolate recipes from 1st May 2007 many of our products now contain whey. This is a by-product of the cheese making process and uses rennet derived from an animal source. Therefore we feel it is for individual vegetarians to judge whether they are comfortable in consuming cheese products that do not bear a vegetarian symbol; we would consider our products to fall into this same category.

Products that are currently in store or that you may have already purchased that carry a Best Before Date of 1st October or before are still suitable for your consumption, however if you have purchased any products with a best before after this date then we will be more than happy to refund the value of the product. Please see attached lists for further information.”

Products which may contain whey Derived from animal rennet (ie are not vegetarian) - HARAAM:
Confectionery:
Bounty ® Dark / Milk
Celebrations ®
Flyte®
Galaxy Ripple®
Galaxy Minstrels®
Galaxy ® Block/Caramel/Fruit & Hazelnut/ Hazelnut
Galaxy Promises ® Cocoa Crisp/ Caramel Crunch/ Roast Hazelnut/Rich Coffee
Maltesers ® Original / White
Mars Original ®
Mars Delight
Mars Planets®
Milky Way ® / Crispy rolls / Magic Stars
Revels®
Snickers®
Topic®
Tracker ®Chocolate Chip / Forest Fruit / Lemon / Roasted Nut
Twix®

Ice Cream:

Bounty ® Ice Cream
Galaxy ® Caramel Swirl Ice Cream / Vanilla / Triple Choc
Maltesers ® Ice Cream
Mars ® Ice Cream / Xtra Ice Cream
Snickers ® Ice Cream / Xtra Ice Cream
Products Which Are Not Suitable for Vegetarians:
Confectionery
M&M’s ® All Varieties
Skittles ® Sours / Rainbow

Vegetarian Suitable Product (OK for muslims (HALAAL)):

Confectionery:
Aquadrops ®
Skittles Fruit ®
Starburst ® Sours/Fruits/Strawberry
Tunes ® Blackcurrant/Cherry/Strawberry
Lockets ® Blackcurrant/ Extra Strong/ Honey & Lemon
Ice Cream:
Starburst® All: Varieties
Milk Drinks:
Mars ® Original Drink/ Extra Chocolate/ Thick Shake
Galaxy ® Smooth and Creamy/ Thick Shake
Maltesers ® Chocolate
Bounty Frappe®
Bounty Drink®
Powdered Drinks:
Galaxy ® Hot Chocolate/ Hot Chocolate With Caramel/ Hot Chocolate Bliss
Maltesers ® Hot Chocolate

rennet is not haram according to the hanafi school of thght so long as it is not taken from an impure animal such as a pig

But scholars suggest for greater God consciousness we should go for the vegetarian options. See here first link is the best one:

http://www.gmwa.org.uk/foodguide2/index.php?page=viewquestion&id=20

http://www.gmwa.org.uk/foodguide2/index.php?page=viewquestion&id=197

check sunnipath, or the halal food guide booklet if you have one

Just a correction Yashmaki Rennet is not haraam if the animal is slaughtered the islamic way, otherwise it's haraam whichever animal it comes from and Pig is haraam rennet or no rennet.

W'aslaam.

The best preacher is the conscience, the best teachers are time and experience, the best book is the world, the best friend is God

I were just about to say that according to a fatwa form Sheikh Ilyas Patel on sunnipath, animal rennet from other than a pig according to hanafi fiqh is spot on ! Smile

and that fatwa about rennet from animal sacrifices in islamic way only is wrong !!

please, please verify fatwa before publishing, much appreciated !

Salaam FHPE, may I ask why you think rennet is haraam even from a animal sacrificed in the islamic way?

The best preacher is the conscience, the best teachers are time and experience, the best book is the world, the best friend is God

"Umar" wrote:
Salaam FHPE, may I ask why you think rennet is haraam even from a animal sacrificed in the islamic way?

:shock: :shock: ........... i do not !!!!

I meant that rennet from any animal other than a pig is halah, whether the animal is sacrificed in in islamic way or not !!!!

"yashmaki" wrote:
rennet is not haram according to the hanafi school of thght so long as it is not taken from an impure animal such as a pig

But scholars suggest for greater God consciousness we should go for the vegetarian options. See here first link is the best one:

http://www.gmwa.org.uk/foodguide2/index.php?page=viewquestion&id=20

http://www.gmwa.org.uk/foodguide2/index.php?page=viewquestion&id=197

check sunnipath, or the halal food guide booklet if you have one

Yes, thats what a scholar informed me as well yesterday. For that is the view of Imam Abu Hanifah

Only rennet made from pig is haraam.

These choclates are Haraam. They contains dead meat from pigs, cows, chickens, sheep, and other badly slaughtered animals. For Jews and Muslims, these things are not allowed to be eaten. If you eat them they turn you into a Kaafir. That is why I won't be buying them anymore. I still eat Lion bar and some other choclates. Some Brothers told me these are still Halal to eat.
But Mars, Bounty, Twix, Snickers, Galaxy, Milky Way etc, are for Kaafirs only. Muslims as well Jews dont even tough the, They are filthy dirty because they have dead animal ingredients put into them.So brother and sisters try to get yourself off the addiction from these Haraam choclates.

Ayatollah rightly named America as "Great Satan".
www.presstv.ir

sallamalikum

Thanks for the info. br Umar. i know what to avoid

No problem Madinah786, as for muslimsister and fhpe I agree to what you say and to the differing opinions mentioned in the article and all I can say is it all depends on the indviduals taqwa - its better to not eat them, I mean it won't kill you if you don't you know Wink

The best preacher is the conscience, the best teachers are time and experience, the best book is the world, the best friend is God

There is no legislation defining vegetarianism, and subsequently the only laws about accurately labelling products as vegetarian relate to general trading standards, ie nothing misleading. In my opinion given the prevalence of vegetarian, kosher and halal diets this is not good enough, and manufacturers should be encouraged to adopt a standard labelling policy of V and NV based on a standard and rigorous definition. I recently contacted some soft drink manufacturers to enquire about use of gelatin, and while I'm pleased to report that most companies including Marks & Spencer, Villa Drinks, Princes and Sunpride (pure fruit juices) do not use gelatin, others such as Tropicana and Britvic include gelatin, give leeway to their suppliers or, like Gerber (relating to pomegranate juices), gave vague and inappropriate responses about how the gelatin is no longer present after UV filtration. And a t least one who I'd best not mention gave a response I just don't believe. None of them mentions gelatin on the ingredients.

The whole problem with the world is that fools and fanatics are always so certain of themselves, but wiser people so full of doubts.
Bertrand Russell (1872 - 1970)

"malik" wrote:
If you eat them they turn you into a Kaafir. That is why I won't be buying them anymore.

:shock: Wow, I didn't know that. So how long does it take to turn into a kafir - one day, a week?

Can I just say, how would you know where the rennet comes from.... it wont say on the packet that it comes from a pig, cow, ect. so how would you know?

"MuslimBro" wrote:

Can I just say, how would you know where the rennet comes from.... it wont say on the packet that it comes from a pig, cow, ect. so how would you know?

the BBC links and other lists are clearly stating that they come from calf

and malik

im getting sick and tired of the crap that u sprout

IF IMAM HANIFAH SAYS THAT IS IS HALAAL THEN WHO THE HELL ARE U TO CALL PEOPLE KAFIR

and stop putting 'kafirs' down

all the ones i know are a million times better than ur hate filled, narrow minded, twisted, fetish inclined ways

:evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil:

He is not a hanafi. But I doubt shia's believe eating something Haraam is kufr.

PS what exactly is rennet? from what I read in the metro, it is the whey (whatever that is) that will no longer be guaranteed to be from veg extracts on products with a sell by date of after October.

"For too long, we have been a passively tolerant society, saying to our citizens 'as long as you obey the law, we will leave you alone'" - David Cameron, UK Prime Minister. 13 May 2015.

I can see why eating something you know to be haraam is a huge sin, because if you believed in and loved Allah (swt) you wouldn't want to. If you are 'addicted' to eating something haraam, and therefore ignore Allah's laws, then that is an act of kufr as it is minor shirk IMO.

But to say eating something haraam will turn you into a kafir is a bit silly.

In relation to the Hanafi viewpoint, correct me if I'm wrong but wasn't this fatwa made in an Muslim society where all calf and lamb would have been slaughtered in the Islamic way. What do the Hanafi scholars say about eating Rennet or other animal-derived products in a non-Muslim society? if its the same, then fair enough but I think its important to clarify.

Don't just do something! Stand there.

Kitkat? :shock:

/0\

NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO OOOOOOOOOOOOO ooooooooooooooo oooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo oooooooooooooooooooooooo ooooooooooooo ooooooooooooooooooooo oooooooooooooooooo ooooooooooooooooo ooooooooooooooo oooooooooooooooo!

"For too long, we have been a passively tolerant society, saying to our citizens 'as long as you obey the law, we will leave you alone'" - David Cameron, UK Prime Minister. 13 May 2015.

"Umar" wrote:

Milky Way Crispy rolls

:shock: Sad :o Cray 2

Oh well there is always cadbury! Flake yummmmmmm

"Ya'qub" wrote:
I can see why eating something you know to be haraam is a huge sin, because if you believed in and loved Allah (swt) you wouldn't want to. If you are 'addicted' to eating something haraam, and therefore ignore Allah's laws, then that is an act of kufr....

Still not kufr.

Makes you a major sinner.

For kufr, you have to either not believe in something essential, or declare a fardh act as not allowed or declare a haraam act as allowed when you fully know the score.

The reason being doind those two actions means you are directly contradicting thee Qur'an. (For something to be fardh or haraam, there needs to be an explicit statement about it in the Qur'an. In essence you are denying the a book of Allah (swt) - something essential to belief.)

"For too long, we have been a passively tolerant society, saying to our citizens 'as long as you obey the law, we will leave you alone'" - David Cameron, UK Prime Minister. 13 May 2015.

ARGH!

so what if the damn chocs are gona be haram, why send mutiple text messages, they are annoyin! :evil:

Dont people have anything better to do than send texts again and again about the SAME thing!

"Ya'qub" wrote:
What do the Hanafi scholars say about eating Rennet or other animal-derived products in a non-Muslim society?

Quote:
In the Hanafi School, rennet obtained from an animal slaughtered by a non-Muslim or Muslim in accordance with Islamic law or contrary to it, in all cases is permissible, as long as the animal in question is not a pig.

"Admin" wrote:
what exactly is rennet?

I am getting this definition.

Rennet - an extract from the membranes of calves' stomachs which contains rennin, an enzyme that aids in coagulating milk or separating curds from whey.

"Angel" wrote:
ARGH!

so what if the damn chocs are gona be haram, why send mutiple text messages, they are annoyin! :evil:

Dont people have anything better to do than send texts again and again about the SAME thing!

You getting them text messages too? Almost everyone i've spoken to today have recieved that same text message.

"MuslimBro" wrote:
"Ya'qub" wrote:
What do the Hanafi scholars say about eating Rennet or other animal-derived products in a non-Muslim society?

Quote:
In the Hanafi School, rennet obtained from an animal slaughtered by a non-Muslim or Muslim in accordance with Islamic law or contrary to it, in all cases is permissible, as long as the animal in question is not a pig.

Since most animals are NOT slaughtered (stun and then put a bolt to the brainpan), I would assume it is not allowed?

I am too antisocial to get into the latest texting craze. Most people do not have my primary email addy either. :twisted:

"For too long, we have been a passively tolerant society, saying to our citizens 'as long as you obey the law, we will leave you alone'" - David Cameron, UK Prime Minister. 13 May 2015.

"Admin" wrote:
Since most animals are NOT slaughtered (stun and then put a bolt to the brainpan), I would assume it is not allowed?

The oxford dictionary says that slaughter means "to kill (animals)". So whether an animal is electrocuted or the neck is cut, it still means means slaughter; to kill right?

"Admin" wrote:
I am too antisocial to get into the latest texting craze. Most people do not have my primary email addy either. :twisted:

What's the point of having an email add if you don't want people to email you Blum 3

people email me all the time. Just people who regularly send chainmail have my hotmail addy which I rarely check...

I assume the original verdict is from an Islamic source, so it is the Islamic definition of slaughter that we want, not the Oxford English definition.

Islamic definition needs the blood to be drained. with a cut to the jugular vein.

"For too long, we have been a passively tolerant society, saying to our citizens 'as long as you obey the law, we will leave you alone'" - David Cameron, UK Prime Minister. 13 May 2015.

but it doesn't matter if the 'slaughter' is Islamic or not

if a non-muslim kills an animal (other than a pig ofcourse) in a non-halal manner then it would still be acceptable.

When we are talking about eating the actual meat then yes, the slaughter has to be as you have described.

at least they're gna help me loose weight D wohoo

To be beautiful is to expect nothing in return.

"Snoopz" wrote:
at least they're gna help me loose weight Biggrin wohoo

Exactly Lol

What about cadbury's products? I think they are still fine. Timeout for me then.

This is just so inconvenient.

FOr the past year or so, I have been finding chocolate too sweet. Just got me sweet tooth back, and now disaster has struck!

"For too long, we have been a passively tolerant society, saying to our citizens 'as long as you obey the law, we will leave you alone'" - David Cameron, UK Prime Minister. 13 May 2015.

Pages